Flame of Hope Award Winners


What are the Flame of Hope Awards?

The Flame of Hope Awards are Cancer Research UK's annual awards that celebrate the achievements of our most outstanding volunteers.

Since 2003, we have presented over 1,500 awards to thank the committed individuals who give their time and energy to help beat cancer.

Find out more about our 2021 winners...

A special thank you from The Chair of Cancer Research UK


Our Flame of Hope Awards celebrate the outstanding achievements of our volunteers and fundraisers from across the UK. The awards were introduced in 2003 and since then Cancer Research UK has recognised over 1,500 winners; our most committed volunteers and supporters who give so much time and energy to support our life-saving work. Many staff and volunteers are involved in both nominating and the difficult task of shortlisting the nominees. This year shortlisting was a particular challenge, with a total of over 700 nominations. We’re delighted to be awarding 19 winners, 85 Special Commendations and 61 Honorary Fellowships. Our volunteers, supporters, and staff are all motivated by the same purpose – beating cancer. It’s this shared purpose that binds us as a community. 1 in 2 of us will get cancer.  And all of us can support the research that will help beat it.   

Congratulations once again to our winners, and above all, thank you.

Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz

Meet our winners!

We have 14 award categories which recognise volunteers from across Cancer Research UK for their outstanding achievements and commitment. Scroll down to find out about our 2021 category winners.

The Honorary Fellowships recognise individuals who have shown outstanding loyalty and dedication to the cause over many years, championing the charity in their community. An Honorary Fellowship is the highest accolade that Cancer Research UK can bestow on a volunteer. Click on the buttons below to find out more about our Honorary Fellowships awarded to Shop volunteers, Event volunteers and Volunteer Fundraisers.