Press office

The press office offers a service to journalists who are looking for information about cancer, research and fundraising initiatives.

Contact the press office

Call us on

0203 469 8300

Or out of hours

0203 469 8301

Email us

press.office@cancer.org.uk 

For regional contacts, see below

Please note, this page is for journalists. If you are looking for general information about Cancer Research UK, help with fundraising or to find out how to support the charity, please call our Supporter Services on 0300 123 1022 or visit our contact us page.

If you would like to become a media volunteer and share your story with us, visit these pages.

Browse the latest news

Our Press team

We publicise the charity's world class scientific and medical research along with the cancer prevention campaigns carried out by Cancer Research UK.

The team also provides comment on clinical and prevention research from around the world as well as other cancer developments in the wider scientific community.

We also act as the press office for Cancer Research UK Commercial Partnerships.

Regional contacts (including Devolved Nations)

If you are a journalist working in the English regions or Devolved Nations, please contact your local press officer from the list below:

Scotland

Linda Summerhayes 07824 600540  linda.summerhayes@cancer.org.uk

Lisa Adams 07713 687200  lisa.adams@cancer.org.uk

Graeme Sneddon (science) 07818 421467  graeme.sneddon@cancer.org.uk

Northern Ireland

Jean Walsh (Not Fri) 07887 678451   jean.walsh@cancer.org.uk

Wales

Ruth Amies 07786 704571  ruth.amies@cancer.org.uk

North West

Greater  Manchester  Cheshire  Merseyside  Lancashire  Cumbria  Isle of Man

Jane Bullock 07810 505535  jane.bullock@cancer.org.uk

Anna Taylor 07467 337109  anna.taylor@cancer.org.uk 

North East, Yorkshire & North Midlands

Tyne & Wear  Co Durham  Cleveland  Northumberland  Teesside  North Yorkshire  

Lisa Millett  07900 137935  lisa.millett@cancer.org.uk  

West Yorkshire  South Yorkshire  East Yorkshire  Derbyshire  Nottinghamshire

Nicki Embleton 07775 916502  nicki.embleton@cancer.org.uk

Midlands

West Midlands  Warwickshire  Shropshire  Staffordshire  Herefordshire  Worcestershire  Leicestershire

Paula Young (Not Wed) 07786 510438  centralpress@cancer.org.uk

Jane Redman (Not Mon) 07918 650670  centralpress@cancer.org.uk

East

Lincolnshire  Northamptonshire  Cambridgeshire  Suffolk  Norfolk  Essex

Patrick Keely 07467 337112  patrick.keely@cancer.org.uk

South Central & West

Hampshire  Dorset  Isle of Wight  Hertfordshire  Buckinghamshire  Bedfordshire  Berkshire   Oxfordshire  Wiltshire  

Jenny Makin 07768 987925  jenny.makin@cancer.org.uk

Oxfordshire  Wiltshire  Gloucestershire  Avon & Somerset   Devon  Cornwall

Alison Birkett (Not Mon) 07918 653002  alison.birkett@cancer.org.uk

London & South East

Greater London  Kent  Surrey  East Sussex  West Sussex  Channel Islands

Lynn Daly 07766 070705  lynn.daly@cancer.org.uk

Digital News Team

Our digital news team – which is separate from our press office – manages the Cancer Research UK news and analysis site. These articles cover new developments in cancer research, health and policy, and cast a critical eye over coverage in the wider media.

Our news stories are often produced in collaboration with PA Media Group or other third party agencies – Cancer Research UK has full and active editorial control of this process, but the comments and opinions contained therein do not reflect those of Cancer Research UK unless explicitly stated.

If you have a query about any of these articles, you can contact the editorial team on newsfeed@cancer.org.uk. Please note this address does not reach the Press Office, see above for their contact details.

Cancer statistics

Cancer Research UK provides cancer incidence, mortality and survival statistics and information on cancer causes and treatment.

Learn more