Accelerator Award: Eligibility

The Accelerator Award funds collaborative networks which bring together researchers with different skills, expertise and perspectives to address the most pressing problems in cancer research which can't be solved in isolation.

Eligibility requirements for lead institutions and PIs

Each host institution is limited to lead one application per round, but may collaborate on multiple awards.

The only exception to this rule is if a UK Centre wishes to submit an additional application in the area of population or prevention research – this must be discussed with the Cancer Research UK office to confirm eligibility and approval.

Reflecting their common aims in capacity building and collaborative networks, the Accelerator Award and Catalyst Schemes have recently been merged and will support the most exciting opportunities across the spectrum of cancer research including population and prevention research.


  • The Lead Host Institution must host a Cancer Research UK Centre, and the PI must be affiliated with the Centre; or
  • The Lead Host Institution must be the Francis Crick Institute, and the PI must be based at the Crick

The CRUK Centres are hosted at:

  • Birmingham

  • Cambridge

  • Edinburgh

  • Glasgow

  • London: Barts Cancer Institute

  • London: Imperial College London

  • London: King's Health Partners

  • London: The Institute of Cancer Research

  • London: University College London

  • Manchester

  • Newcastle

  • Oxford

  • Southampton

The Principal Investigator must:

  • Be highly competitive in oncology research at the international level and have an internationally recognised impact in their specific field.

  • Have been consistently funded by AIRC through peer-reviewed grants and fellowships in the last five years.

  • Have received funding from international agencies and/or organisations in the last five years.

  • Have a highly-cited publication record in oncology research the last five years.

  • Be actively engaged in outreach activities and dissemination of cancer knowledge to the general public.

The Lead Host Institution must:

  • Have state-of-the-art infrastructure and services that allow for high quality cancer research at an international level.

  • Have an educational training program for PhDs and MDs to teach all the skills necessary to become leaders in oncology research.

  • Work to make cancer ever more treatable, thus helping the Italian health system to improve patients’ care and long-term survival.

  • Submit their research activities periodically to scientific evaluation processes through external and independent scientific committees.

  • Have in place an ethics committee and a policy on research integrity.

Only PIs affiliated to a FC AECC certified centres are eligible to lead an Accelerator Award.  

The FC AECC certified centres are:

  • Centro Nacional de Investigaciones Oncológicas (CNIO)

  • Clínica Universidad Navarra (CUN).

  • Fundación para la Investigación Biomédica del Hospital Universitario 12 de Octubre (i+12)

  • Fundación Clínic per a la Recerca Biomèdica (IDIBAPS)

  • Fundación para la Investigación Biomédica del Hospital Ramón y Cajal (IRYCIS)

  • Fundación para la Investigación del Hospital La Fe de la Comunidad Valenciana (ISS La Fe)

  • Fundación Instituto Hospital del Mar de Investigaciones Médicas (IMIM)

  • Instituto de Recerca Biomédica (IRB)

  • Instituto de Investigación Biomédica de Bellvitge (IDIBELL)

  • Instituto de Biomedicina de Sevilla (IBIS)

  • Fundación Privada Instituto de Investigación Oncológica Vall d'Hebron (VHIO)

  • Fundación investigación Biomédica Hospital Universitario La Paz (IDIPAZ)

  • Fundación para la Investigación del cáncer de la Universidad de Salamanca (FICUS)

  • Fundación Instituto de Recerca Contra la Leucèmia Josep Carreras (IJC)

Contact us