Population Research Committee

The Population Research Committee (PRC) supports clinical and public health epidemiology and educational and behavioural research on cancer prevention, screening and early diagnosis.

PRC and its expert review panels are responsible for the oversight, development, review, funding and management of a portfolio of awards for research Programmes, Project Grants and Fellowships.​

Research areas

PRC funds population research across all cancer types, treatment modalities and stages in the patient journey, while prioritising the objectives set out in our Research Strategy.

Early Diagnosis

  • Cancer symptoms: natural history and awareness
  • The early diagnosis pathway including alternative routes to diagnosis
  • Interventions to increase presentation to primary care or uptake of screening
  • Screening as a form of early diagnosis


  • Behavioural and lifestyle interventions to prevent cancer (individual or population level), including prevention of cancer recurrence
  • Adherence to chemoprevention
  • Screening as a form of prevention


  • Classical and health epidemiology, plus survival and incidence rates
  • Repurposing of existing cohorts for ‘omics studies (excluding genetic epidemiology)
  • Secondary physical effects of cancer treatment
  • Methodological and statistical research relating to population sciences

How proposals are judged

Applications are judged on the basis of scientific excellence, innovation and relevance to cancer research. The Committee and its expert review panels meet twice a year and assess all applications on the basis of their scientific and strategic importance, whilst also studying the expert peer review which is collated for each grant.

Case study: Dr Úna McMenamin

Úna explains how she developed and demonstrated the skills and experience that helped her secure a Population Research Fellowship.

Committee and panel members


Professor Kay-Tee Khaw – University of Cambridge


Professor Mark Beresford – Royal United Hospital Bath


Dr Alison Allam  – Patient Representative 

Professor Naomi Allen – University of Oxford

Professor Zhengming Chen – University of Oxford

Professor Helen Coleman – Queen's University Belfast

Dr Amanda Cross – Imperial College London

Dr Christian Dehlendorff – Danish Cancer Society Research Center

Professor Brendan Delaney – Imperial College London

Professor Bianca De Stavola – University College London

Dr Filippos Filippidis – Imperial College London

Dr Mattias Johansson – International Agency for Research on Cancer

Ms Debbie Keatley – Patient Representative

Professor Brendan McCormack – Queen Margaret University

Dr Graham Moore – Cardiff University

Professor Marcus Munafo – University of Bristol

Dr Brian Nicholson – University of Oxford

Professor Linda Sharp – Newcastle University

Dr Alex Smith – University of York

Professor Dawn Teare – Newcastle University

Professor Alicja Wolk Karolinska Institutet


Professor Brendan McCormack – Queen Margaret University


Professor Brendan Delaney – Imperial College London


Dr Rosalind Adam – University of Aberdeen

Professor Paul Aylin – Imperial College London

Ms Jennifer Bostock – Consumer Representative

Dr Emma Crosbie – University of Manchester

Dr Susan Griffin – University of York

Dr Catherine Hurt – City University London

Professor Tom Marshall – University of Birmingham

Dr Katriina Whitaker – University of Surrey


Dr Graham Moore – University of Cardiff


Dr Jean Adams – University of Cambridge

Mr Matthew Baker – Consumer Representative

Professor Marijn de Bruin – University of Aberdeen

Professor Steven Cummins – London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Professor Usha Menon – University College London

Dr Felix Naughton – University of East Anglia

Dr Pär Sparen – Karolinska Institutet


Professor Naomi Allen – University of Oxford


Professor Linda Sharp – Newcastle University


Dr Tim Card – University of Nottingham

Professor Zhengming Chen – University of Oxford

Professor Rebecca Hardy – University College London

Ms Debbie Keatley – Patient Representative

Professor Paul Lambert – University of Leicester

Professor Niels Peek – University of Manchester

Dr Peter Tennant – University of Leeds

Professor John Whittaker – GlaxoSmithKline


Dr Amanda Cross – Imperial College London


Dr Robert Strausberg – Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research 


Dr Mattias Johansson – International Agency for Research on Cancer


Professor John Brodersen – University of Copenhagen

Mrs Sue Duncombe – Consumer Representative 

Dr Charlie Foster – University of Bristol

Professor Kay-Tee Khaw – University of Cambridge

Dr Danae Manika – Queen Mary University of London

Dr Linda Nebeling – National Cancer Institute

Professor Matthijs Oudkerk – University of Groningen

Professor Sally Vernon – The University of Texas 

Dr Peter Tugwell – University of Ottawa

Professor Xifeng Wu – MD Anderson

Contact for this committee

Dr Anbalakan Paramasivam

Senior Research Funding Manager 

Email: prc@cancer.org.uk

Tel: +44 (0) 20 3469 8824

More opportunities for population researchers

Population Research

We support a broad portfolio of population research, including behavioural research, epidemiology, public health, and research into cancer prevention and early diagnosis.

We fund investigator-led projects, partnership initiatives, research facilities and resources, and we have a range of opportunities to help you develop your research career.