Our Members

Cancer Research UK’s constitution provides for the appointment of 100 Members of the charity. Members are similar to the shareholders of a company.

They are entitled to attend all general meetings of Cancer Research UK (including the AGM) and their most significant formal duty is the election of Trustees.

When Cancer Research UK was formed in 2002 the Trustees, who were the original 20 founding Members of the charity, appointed a further 60 Members, bringing the total to 80. Below is a list of our current 98 Members, including the Trustees.

Together the Members embody a broad range of relevant skills, experience and backgrounds, from business and the arts, finance, science and health care. They are chosen not to represent particular fields, but as individuals who are supportive of the aims and objects of the charity.

Some of the Members were previously formally associated with the Cancer Research Campaign and the Imperial Cancer Research Fund and because they were enthusiastic in their support of the new charity were invited to maintain a connection with it.

Others were selected by the new Cancer Research UK Trustee body because of their interest in or knowledge of cancer research and associated health issues and because of their sympathy with the aims of the charity.

The following are currently Members of CR-UK

  • Carol Arrowsmith
  • Anne Baldock LLB
  • Sir David Barnes CBE
  • Wendy Becker BA MBA
  • Professor Sir John Bell GBE FRS FMedSci
  • Lady Benson OBE JP DL
  • Professor Doctor Anton Berns
  • Professor Sir Adrian Bird CBE FRS FRSE
  • Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz MA PhD FRS FRCP FMedSci
  • Carolyn Bradley MA (Cantab)
  • Catherine Brown LLB(Hons)
  • Helen Calcraft BA(Hons) MBA
  • Professor Sir Kenneth Calman KCB DL FRSE
  • Professor Sir David C Carter MD FRCS(Ed) FRSE
  • Peter Chambré 
  • Sir Ian Michael Cheshire
  • Simon Collins BA FCA
  • Professor Suzanne Cory AC PhD FAA FRS
  • Sherry Coutu CBE
  • Keith Craig
  • Dr Adrian Crellin CBE MA FRCR FRCP
  • James Crosby BA
  • David Dangoor DL
  • Professor Dame Sally Davies GCB DBE FMedSci FRS
  • Tracy De Groose LLB
  • Lord Deighton KBE
  • Dr Robert Easton BSc ARCS DPhil FCGI
  • Professor Diana Eccles MD FRCP
  • Sir John Egan DL FRAeS FCIT FCIPS
  • Professor Alexander Eggermont MD PhD
  • Edward James (Jim) Elliott PhD
  • Lord Fink of Northwood
  • Professor the Rt Hon Baroness Finlay of Llandaff FRCP FRCGP
  • Professor Dame Amanda Fisher DBE FRS FMedSci
  • Douglas Flint CBE 
  • Dr Susan Foden MA DPhil
  • Roy WJ Foster FCA
  • Michael Francis Geoghegan CBE
  • Richard Gnodde
  • Professor Peter Goodfellow DPhil FRS
  • Michael Gooley CBE 
  • Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint
  • Richard Anthony Griffiths 
  • Professor Sue Griffiths DCR(T) HDCR(T) FCR(Hon) Bed (Hon) MRCR PhD
  • Colleen Harris MVO DL FRSA
  • Professor Sir Stephen T Holgate CBE FMedSci
  • Alison Howe BSc (Hons)
  • Professor Nic Jones PhD FMedSci
  • Professor Pamela Kearns PhD FRCPCH
  • Professor Sir Bruce Keogh KBE
  • Professor Jonathan K C Knowles
  • Sir Harpal Kumar
  • Professor Sir Alan Langlands FRSE
  • Dr Melanie G Lee CBE BSc DSc(Hon) FMedSci
  • Oscar M Lewisohn FCIB
  • David Lindsell FCA
  • The Rt Hon The Lord Mackay of Clashfern KT PC FRSE
  • Charles Manby MA MBA
  • Professor Sir Alex Markham DSc FRCP FRCPath FMedSci
  • Roger Matthews ACA BSocSci
  • Jill May BEM
  • Dr Ruth McKernan CBE
  • Judith Mellor OBE
  • Stephanie Moore MBE
  • Sir David K Newbigging OBE
  • Sir Paul Nurse FRS
  • Dame Bridget Ogilvie AC DBE FRS
  • Andrew Palmer FCA
  • Dr Keith F Palmer OBE
  • Lady Hayat Palumbo
  • Professor Sir Keith Peters FRCP FRS FMedSci
  • Sir Joseph Pilling KCB
  • Professor Sir Bruce Ponder FRCP FMedSci FRS
  • Michael Pragnell CBE MA MBA
  • Kate Reardon
  • Dr Andrew Richards CBE CChem
  • Professor Sir Michael Richards CBE MD FRCP
  • Gerald M Ronson CBE Hon DCL Hon PhD
  • Professor Dame Nancy J Rothwell DBE DSc FRS FMedSci FRSB
  • Alfred Samuels
  • Professor Peter Selby CBE DSc MD FMedSci FRCP
  • Joanne Shaw
  • Rob Smith CB
  • Pascal Soriot Esq.
  • Derek C Stewart OBE
  • Clive Strowger OBE FCA
  • Professor Dame Jean Thomas DBE CBE ScD FRS FMedSci FLSW
  • Professor Jeffrey Tobias MD FRCP FRCR
  • The Hon Mrs Felicity Waley-Cohen
  • Sir Mark Walport FRS FMedSci
  • Guy Weston 
  • Professor Moira Whyte OBE PhD FRCP FRCPE FMedSci FRSE
  • Roger Wilson CBE MD(hc) LLD(hc)
  • Professor The Lord Winston of Hammersmith FRCOG Hon FREng FMedSci DSc
  • Sir Andrew Witty
  • Lady Wolfson of Marylebone
  • Polly Wood MBE

Get in touch

If you require further information or have any comments please get in touch.

020 7242 0200

Contact us