Cancer Strategy in England

Information about the independent NHS England Cancer Taskforce, and Cancer Research UK's role.

Achieving world-class cancer outcomes: a strategy for England 2015-2020

In July 2015 an Independent Cancer Taskforce published Achieving world-class cancer outcomes: a strategy for England 2015-2020. An Executive Summary and Equality Impact Assessment is also available. The aim was to improve survival rates and save thousands of lives. The taskforce was asked to deliver the vision set out in the NHS Five Year Forward View. 

The Chair of the Taskforce, Harpal Kumar, set out the opportunities to transform cancer services in a letter to the Chief Executives of the bodies responsible for running the NHS, and on the Cancer Research UK blog.

The report built on the statement of intent, published in March 2015, which assessed the opportunity for improved cancer care, set out the key questions for the taskforce to address and outlined the key ambitions and initiatives to be considered.

Independent National Cancer Advisory Group

An Independent National Cancer Advisory Group has been established to advise and assess on progress of implementation of Achieving World Class Cancer Outcomes (AWCCO). The group is independent of Government, the NHS Arms Length Bodies and the National Cancer Transformation Board. The Terms of Reference for the Group are available.

How Cancer Research UK is involved

Our Chief Executive, Sir Harpal Kumar acted as the independent Chair of the Cancer Taskforce. Sir Harpal is now the Chair of the Independent National Cancer Advisory Group.

Members of the National Cancer Advisory Group

Harpal Kumar – Independent Chair

Charlotte Beardmore - Society and College of Radiographers

Nicola Beech - Royal College of Nursing

Emma Greenwood - Cancer Research UK

Johnathan Joffe - Royal College of Physicians

Kate Lee - CLIC Sargent

Suzy Lishman - Royal College of Pathologists

Jane Lyons - Cancer 52

Delyth Morgan - Common Cancers Coalition

Paul O’Flynn - Royal College of Surgeons

Linda Pepper - patient representative

John Reeve - patient representative

Nicola Strickland - Royal College of Radiologists

Richard Roope - Royal College of General Practitioners

Fran Woodard - Macmillan Cancer Support

Mark Kroese - Faculty of Public Health

Rate this page:

Currently rated: 2.6 out of 5 based on 36 votes
Thank you!
We've recently made some changes to the site, tell us what you think