Coronavirus and cancer

We know it’s a worrying time for people with cancer, we have information to help. If you have symptoms of cancer contact your doctor.

Read our information about coronavirus and cancer

Decorative image

Stages, types and grades

The stage of a cancer tells you how big it is, and the grade tells you how fast it might grow. 


There are a number of different types of vulval cancer. The most common type is squamous cell. 

Stages and grades

The stage and grade of a cancer helps your doctor decide which treatment you need.

Vulval intraepithelial neoplasia (VIN)

Vulval intraepithelial neoplasia (VIN) is a skin condition of the vulva. Find out about symptoms and treatment options.

Stage 1

Stage 1 vulval cancer means it is only present in the vulva.

Stage 2

Stage 2 vulval cancer means the cancer has spread to nearby tissue. 

Stage 3

Stage 3 is divided into stages 3A, 3B and 3C. In this stage, the cancer can be any size.

Stage 4

Stage 4 vulval cancer is advanced cancer. It is divided into stage 4A and 4B.

Last reviewed: 
14 Jun 2019

Information and help