Clinical Trials Awards and Advisory Committee

The Clinical Trials Awards and Advisory Committee (CTAAC) reviews applications for funding or endorsement of late phase investigator-led studies. The former Feasibility Study Committee (FSC) was amalgamated into CTAAC in April 2008. CTAAC therefore also funds single or multi-centre prospective therapeutic, diagnostic or prevention phase II studies testing aspects of feasibility or tolerability and/or efficacy.

Additionally, CTAAC is now responsible for the review of prospective sample collections from clinical trials that are about to commence or are ongoing. Support will be provided for the collection of tumour blocks and bloods only, unless specific justification can be made by an applicant for the collection of additional sample types.

Research areas

The Clinical Trials Awards and Advisory Committee (CTAAC) reviews, funds and endorses cancer clinical trials. CTAAC is responsible for the review, funding and management of awards for phase II studies testing aspects of feasibility or tolerability and/or efficacy, larger phase II and phase III therapeutic clinical trials and sample collections.

How proposals are judged

Applications submitted to CTAAC are assessed based on their scientific and technical merit, taking into consideration comments collected from expert peer reviewers. The Committee meets three times per year.

Chair of CTAAC

Professor David Sebag-Montefiore - St James's University Hospital, Leeds

Vice-chairs of CTAAC

Professor Anthony Chalmers - Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre

Professor Mark Middleton - Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Jim Barber – Velindre Cancer Centre

Professor Jane Blazeby – University of Bristol

Dr John Bridgewater – UCL Cancer Institute, London

Professor Hani Gabra – Institute of Reproductive and Developmental Biology, Imperial College London

Dr Emma Hall – The Institute of Cancer Research, London

Mrs Shirley Harrison (Patient Representative) – Cancer Research UK

Dr Matthew Hatton – Weston Park Hospital, Sheffield

Professor Peter Hillmen – Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Mr Chris Hurt – Wales Cancer Trials Unit, University of Cardiff

Dr Colin James – Queen's University, Belfast

Dr Sarah Jefferies – Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge

Professor Ian Judson – The Institute of Cancer Research, London

Professor Terry Jones – University of Liverpool

Ms Murielle Mauer – EORTC

Dr Gary Middleton – University of Birmingham

Mr Alex Mirnezami – University of Southampton

Mr Rajendra Persad – Bristol Royal Infirmary

Dr Sue Picton – Leeds General Infirmary

Professor Sarah Pinder – King's College London

Professor Tom Powles – Barts and The London NHS Trust

Professor Malcolm Reed – Department of Oncology, University of Sheffield

Dr Simon Rule – Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Nigel Russell – Nottingham City Hospital

Professor Sally Stenning – MRC CTU, University College London

Mr Richard Stephens (Patient Representative) – Cancer Research UK

Dr Angela Thomas – Royal Hospital for Sick Children, Edinburgh

Dr Mangesh Thorat – Queen Mary University of London

Ms Anne Croudass (Patient Representative Mentor) – Lead Cancer Research UK Research Nurse

Dr Eileen Loucaides (Ex-Officio Member) – Senior Executive, NCRI Clinical Studies Group Secretariat

Mrs Deborah Rodbard (Senior Information Nurse) – Cancer Research UK

Contact for this committee

Dr Caroline Dalton

Tel: +44 (0) 20 3469 8860