Stage 4 womb cancer

The stage of a cancer tells you how big it is and how far it’s spread. It helps your doctor decide which treatment you need.

Stage 4 means the cancer has spread to another area of the body. There are 2 categories of stage 4 womb cancer:

  • 4A means the cancer has grown into the bowel or bladder
  • 4B means the cancer has spread to lymph nodes further away or to other parts of the body, such as the lungs, liver, bones or brain (secondary cancers or metastases)
Diagram showing stage 4 womb cancer

Your doctor might call stage 4 cancer advanced cancer.


The stage of your cancer helps your doctor to decide which treatment you need. Treatment also depends on:

  • the type of womb cancer you have
  • how the cancer is likely to behave (the grade)
  • your general health
  • your preferences


Depending on how far your cancer has spread, it may be possible to remove as much of the cancer as possible.

After surgery, you are likely to have radiotherapy or chemotherapy, or both.

If you can't have surgery

There are several reasons why you might not have surgery, including:

  • your cancer is too difficult to remove
  • it has spread to areas further away in your body, such as the liver and lungs
  • you are not fit enough for surgery
  • you choose not to have it

You might have radiotherapy, chemotherapy, hormone therapy or a combination of these treatments. And your doctor might suggest you take part in clinical trial.

More information

Coping with advanced cancer can be difficult. It is important to get the information and support you and your loved ones need. 

  • Cancer of the corpus uteri (FIGO Cancer Report 2018)

    F Amant and others

    International Journal of Gynaecology and Obstetrics, 2018. Vol 143 Supplement 2): pages 37–50

  • ESMO-ESGO-ESTRO Consensus Conference on Endometrial Cancer: diagnosis, treatment and follow-up

    N Columbo and others 

    Annals of Oncology, 2016. 27: 16–41

  • BGCS Uterine Cancer Guidelines: Recommendations for Practice 
    Sudha Sundar and others
    Eur J Obstet Gynecol Reprod Bioliology, 2017. Jun;213:71-97.

    Also available: BGCS Uterine Cancer Guidelines: Recommendations for Practice 


Last reviewed: 
31 Jan 2022
Next review due: 
10 Feb 2024

Related links