Stages of womb cancer

The stage of a cancer tells you how big the tumour is and whether it has spread. This helps your doctor decide which treatment you need.

Stage 1 womb cancer

Stage 1 cancers are early cancers and the cancer is within the womb. Stage 1 is divided into 1A and 1B. 

Stage 2 womb cancer

Stage 2 womb cancer means the cancer has grown into the cervix but has not spread outside the womb.

Stage 3 womb cancer

Stage 3 means the cancer has spread outside the womb, but is still within the pelvis. Your doctor may call this locally advanced womb cancer.

Stage 4 womb cancer

Stage 4 means the cancer has spread to another area of the body.

Last reviewed: 
09 Apr 2023
Next review due: 
09 Apr 2027