Decorative image

Stages and types

The stage of a cancer tells you about its size and whether it has spread. Knowing the stage helps your doctor decide which treatment you need.

Types of anal cancer

The type of anal cancer you have depends on the type of cell the cancer started in. Squamous cell carcinoma is the most common type of anal cancer. Find out about other types. 

TNM Staging

Find out about tumour, node and metastasis (TNM) staging.

Anal intraepithelial neoplasia (AIN)

Anal intraepithelial neoplasia means there are abnormal cells within the lining of the anus.

Stage 1

Stage 1 anal cancer means that the cancer is less than 2cm in size and hasn't spread to any nearby tissue, lymph nodes or other organs. 

Stage 2

Stage 2 anal cancer is divided into 2 groups - 2A and 2B. Find out what stage 2 anal cancer means and about treatment options.

Stage 3

Stage 3 anal cancer is divided into 3 groups - 3A, 3B and 3C. Find out what stage 3 anal cancer means and about treatment options.

Stage 4

Stage 4 anal cancer means the cancer has spread to other parts of the body, such as the liver. It is also called advanced anal cancer.

Last reviewed: 
26 Apr 2019

Information and help