Stages of womb cancer

The stage of a cancer tells you how big the tumour is and whether it has spread. This helps your doctor decide which treatment you need.

Stage 1 womb cancer

Stage 1 cancers are early cancers and the cancer is within the womb. Stage 1 is divided into 1A and 1B. 

Stage 2 womb cancer

Stage 2 womb cancer means the cancer has grown into the cervix.

Stage 3 womb cancer

Stage 3 means the cancer has spread outside the womb, but is still within the pelvis. Your doctor may call this locally advanced womb cancer. There are 3 categories of stage 3 womb cancer.

Stage 4 womb cancer

Stage 4 means the cancer has spread to another area of the body. There are 2 categories of stage 4 womb cancer

Last reviewed: 
30 Jan 2022
Next review due: 
10 Feb 2024
Coronavirus and cancer

We know it’s a worrying time for people with cancer, we have information to help.

Read our information about coronavirus and cancer