Decorative image

Stages and grades

The stage of a cancer tells you how big it is and whether it has spread. There are 4 stages of ovarian cancer. The grade means how abnormal the cells look under the microscope.

The stage and grade help your doctor decide which treatment you need.

About stages and grades

The stage tells you how big your cancer is and whether it has spread. The grade means how abnormal the cells look under the microscope. 

Stage 1

Stage 1 ovarian cancer means the cancer is only in the ovaries. Surgery is the main treatment. Some women need chemotherapy.

Stage 2

Stage 2 ovarian cancer means the cancer has grown outside the ovaries and is growing within the pelvis. Treatment is surgery and chemotherapy.

Stage 3

Stage 3 ovarian cancer has spread outside the pelvis into the abdominal cavity or to lymph nodes. Treatment is surgery and chemotherpy.

Stage 4

Stage 4 ovarian cancer has spread to other body organs some distance away from the ovaries, such as the liver or lungs. 

Last reviewed: 
17 Jan 2019
Coronavirus and cancer

We know it’s a worrying time for people with cancer, we have information to help.

Read our information about coronavirus and cancer