Stages, types and grades of lung NETs

The stage of a neuroendocrine tumour (NET) tells you its size and whether it has spread. The type is the type of cell the tumour started in. And the grade means how abnormal the cells look under the microscope. 

The tests and scans you have to diagnose a lung NET give information about the type, stage and grade. This helps your doctor decide which treatment you need.

Stages of lung NETs

The stage of a cancer tells you its size and whether it has spread. Doctors use the number system or the TNM system to stage lung NETs.

Types of lung NETs

Small cell lung cancer, large cell neuroendocrine carcinoma, typical carcinoid and atypical carcinoid are the 4 types of lung NETs.

Grades of lung NETs

The grade gives doctors an idea of how the tumour might behave. There are 3 grades of lung NETs.

Last reviewed: 
25 Mar 2021
Next review due: 
25 Mar 2024
Coronavirus and cancer

We know it’s a worrying time for people with cancer, we have information to help.

Read our information about coronavirus and cancer