Types of lung cancer

The type of lung cancer you have tells you the type of cell that the cancer started in. Knowing this helps your doctor decide which treatment you need.

Cancer that starts in the lung is called primary lung cancer. If cancer spreads to your lungs from somewhere else in your body, this is secondary lung cancer.

There are different types of primary lung cancer and they are divided into 2 main groups:

  • small cell lung cancer (SCLC)
  • non small cell lung cancer (NSCLC)

The most common type is non small cell lung cancer.

Small cell lung cancer (SCLC)

Around 15 to 20 out of every 100 lung cancers (around 15 - 20%) diagnosed are this type. It is usually caused by smoking. These cancers tend to spread quite early on.

Small cell lung cancers are also classed as neuroendocrine tumours. Neuroendocrine tumours (NETs) are rare tumours that develop in cells of the neuroendocrine system. In small cell lung cancer, the tumour starts in the neuroendocrine cells of the lung.

Non small cell lung cancer (NSCLC)

Around 80 to 85 out of 100 lung cancers (around 80 - 85%) in the UK are non small cell lung cancer (NSCLC). The three main types are adenocarcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma and large cell carcinoma.

They are grouped together because they behave in a similar way and respond to treatment in a similar way.


This is the most common type and starts in the mucus making gland cells in the lining of your airways.

Squamous cell cancer

This type develops in the flat cells that cover the surface of your airways. It tends to grow near the centre of the lung.

Large cell carcinoma

The cancer cells appear large and round under the microscope.

Other types of non small cell cancer

If your cancer cells look very undeveloped under the microscope, your doctor won’t be able to tell what type of cancer you have. There are other tests the team can do, so they can get more information from the sample.

Other cancers affecting the lungs

There are other types of tumours found in the lung. They are much less common. Examples are:

  • salivary gland type tumours
  • lung sarcoma
  • lung lymphoma

The treatment for these is different than for SCLC and NSCLC. 

Cancers in the top area of the lung are called Pancoast tumours.

Mesothelioma is a rare type of cancer that starts in the covering of the lung (the pleura).

Some cancers can spread into the lung. This is called secondary lung cancer.

Last reviewed: 
28 Jan 2020
  • National Lung Cancer Audit Report

    Health and Social Care Information Centre, 2012

  • Lung cancer: diagnosis and management
    National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), 2019

  • Management of lung cancer
    Scottish Intercollegiate Guideline Network, 2014

  • Non-small cell lung cancer: current treatment and future advances

    C Zappa and S A Mousa

    Translational Lung Cancer Research, 2016. Volume 5, Issue 3

  • The 2015 World Health Organization Classification of Lung Tumors Impact of Genetic, Clinical and Radiologic Advances Since the 2004 Classification

    W Travis and others

    Journal of Thoracic Oncology, 2015. Volume 10, Issue 9

  • Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology (11th edition)

    V T Devita, S A Hellman and T S Lawrence

    Wolters Kluwer, 2019

Related links