Decorative image

Stages, types and grades

The stage of penile cancer tells you how big it is and whether it has spread. There are different ways of staging penile cancer. There is the TNM system and the number staging system. This includes 5 stages - stage 0 to stage 4. 

The type tells you which type of cell the cancer started in and where it began. The grade means how abnormal the cells look under the microscope.

Types and grades

Find out about the different types and grades of penile cancer. The most common type is squamous cell cancer.

TNM Staging

The TNM staging system is the most common way that doctors stage penile cancer. TNM stands for Tumour, Node, Metastasis.

Stage 0

Stage 0 or carcinoma in situ (CIS) is the earliest stage of penile cancer and cancer cells are only in the top layers of the skin of the penis.

Stage 1

Stage 1 is means your cancer has grown into the tissue below the top layers of the skin of the penis.

Stage 2

Stage 2 means your cancer has grown deep into the tissues of the penis below the top layers of the skin.

Stage 3

Stage 3 penile cancer means the cancer involves the penis and at least one lymph node in the groin.

Stage 4

Stage 4 penile cancer is advanced cancer. The cancer has spread to other parts of the body.

Last reviewed: 
10 Dec 2020
Next review due: 
10 Dec 2023
Coronavirus and cancer

We know it’s a worrying time for people with cancer, we have information to help.

Read our information about coronavirus and cancer