Number stages of bowel cancer

There are different ways to stage bowel cancer. The number staging system gives a number from stage 0 to stage 4.

Stage 0 or CIS means that you have an early stage of bowel cancer. There are cancer cells in your bowel lining, but they’re completely contained. There is little risk of any cancer cells having spread.  Read about stage 1 to stage 4 bowel cancer below. 

Stage 1

Stage 1 bowel cancer has grown through the inner lining of the bowel, or into the muscle wall. It has not spread to lymph nodes or distant body parts. 

Stage 2

Stage 2 bowel cancer has spread into the outer wall of the bowel or into tissue or organs next to the bowel. It has not spread to the lymph nodes or distant parts of the body.

Stage 3

Stage 3 bowel cancer has spread to nearby lymph nodes, but hasn't spread to distant body parts. 

Stage 4

Stage 4 bowel cancer has spread to distant body parts, such as the liver or lungs. It's also called advanced bowel cancer.

Last reviewed: 
12 Jan 2022
Next review due: 
12 Jan 2022
Json LD: 
Coronavirus and cancer

We know it’s a worrying time for people with cancer, we have information to help.

Read our information about coronavirus and cancer