Cancer Research UK on Google+ Cancer Research UK on Facebook Cancer Research UK on Twitter
Donate

Let's beat cancer sooner

Re: Husband diagnosed with stage 4 pancreatic cancer

3 Oct 2017 16:41 in response to frantic.

Positive is good, realistic is also good, researched all sorts of websites, most give conflicting advice, recognised I needed to make some decisions about the choices I was going to make. I am not an expert, however I am as near an expert on me as I can find so I gauge everything on how it makes me feel, I just avoid the things that I think will feed the cancer, my problem is this is an incredibly long list now, but worth it to come from laid on the floor for 2-3 hours waiting for the morpheine to work, to now pain free 95% of the time. Deal with the  pain if you can , sounds like the pancreas is working too hard, Al

5 Oct 2017 20:59 in response to yorkshire man
My mum got the diagnosis yesterday and we are all in shock - she has had breathing problems for nearly a year and had so many tests but cancer was almost ruled out. She has a blood clot on her lung but has had no pain, stools are normal but she has lost 2 stone rapidly in two months. I know she is scared but she is putting a brace face on it....I'm not sure it's fully registered with her yet. We know it's a matter of time but as she feels so well she has already said ' she wants everything to continue as it is - she doesn't want us to fuss and she doesn't wants us to be sad'. I wish everyone on the same journey that we are about to embark on the very best. I can only follow her lead and not let the cancer take her spirit as well as her body xx

6 Oct 2017 07:41 in response to yorkshire man