Worried

Hi everyone 

I'm new to this and so worried, after my 1st mammogram I got letter to attend breast clinic next week,  I'm 52 and have had sore shoulder but put it down to walking a strong dog who pulls on the lead.

Im so worried can't eat or sleep fearing the worst .

Any one else similar situation

thanks 

• Hello, I remember feeling that dread and fear.   For me, I think the waiting part was one of the worst aspects of a referral.  No matter how much you tell your self the statistics are in your favour, it does nothing to silence the fear of "what if".  You then start to notice all sorts of niggles and pains and your mind immediately jumps to the anxiety of "Is that cancer? ".  Every headache could be a matatises.  Awful, awful time.  
    Waiting is a unique form of torture.   Is there anyone you can talk to at home?  At work?  I was astonished at how many people had been through a cancer at work.  They've been a huge support to me.  Diversion helps to a degree.  

For me when I finally got my diagnosis I felt a weird warped sense of relief that the waiting was over.  And knowing what I was going to have to face and deal with was shocking but at that moment,  far preferable to the not knowing.   

xxxxxxxxx

• Hi, thank you so much for your reply, yes every wee niggle I think must have spread, I'm so tense that my neck is sore, 

keep feeling both shoulders to see if they fee the same m.

i have spoken to my cousin and couple close friends, they have been great, 1 is running me to my appointment. Can't tell my daughter and son till I find out results . I have told myself its going to be bad news. Will be a mess on Tuesday appointment is in afternoon so have all morning to wait . As you say the waiting is the worst, 

I hope you are keeping ok 

Thanks

• Similar here, 46, single parent, boys 14 and 12, biopsy and mammogram on Thursday. Go through waves of utter panic...