Tongue Biopsy

I've just had a tongue Biopsy this afternoon - would be so grateful for any tips on how long it takes to heal, how to cope with the wait for results. Had an ulcer that wouldn't heal on the side of my tongue, noticed by my dentist. I'm a supply teacher, so can't afford to take any time off as I won't get paid - but talking is quite challenging! Grateful thanks in advance for any advice. 

• Hi LouLaw and welcome to the forum.

Hopefully some of our members will be along soon to offer their tips for recovery but I hope this information I've found online will help you whilst you wait for your results.

We'll have our fingers crossed for good news LouLaw.

All the best, 

Steph, Cancer Chat Moderator

• Dear Steph

That's really kind of you, thank you. I've read the article, which has some very sensible advice. Will try to keep busy! 

Thanks again, and very best wishes 

Louise

• Hi 

just reading your post and wondering 
    how did you get on ? Was it painful ? Did it take ages to heal ? 
    hope your results were ok 
    Am going to have one Monday and wondering what to expect 

Liz x

• Hi Liz

Try not to worry too much. I convinced myself it would be like a bad day at the dentist.

To be honest some find it worse than others. Its down to the Dr doing the biopsy`s skill.I had a junior Dr and she was amazingly good,she squirted a little of the anaesthestic around the area first I never felt a thing!

The same goes for afterwards. Rinse with warm salty or bicarb water often it speeds up healing.

Take care when tongue is numb afterwards when eating etc.

Good luck I hope all goes well for you. xx

• Hi clara56 

thank you for replying, 

I have a real fear of the dentist and it took me a while to build up to go then he told me I needed to be referred for oral surgery. 
    I went the hospital and the doctor said  she will cut the two lumps out and stitch it up

soon as she said stitch it up i started to panic, 

Worried also because  am tongue tied