Thyroid nodule

Hello I'm new to this and just wanted to see if anyone is in the boat as me . I am 40 yrs of age and have 5 children 3 big boys and 2 smallies one girl and one boy . I found a lump back in June and went straight to doc who referred me for ultrasound after some messing around I eventually got app in aug . Lump was 5.6cm by 3.6cm . I was referred on to have urgent fna. Results of biopsy came back as thy 3f . I had nodule removed and left lobe of thyroid 2 wks ago today and nodule had grown to 7cm . I am now waiting on results to see if it's cancer and if I need more surgery . So anxious as there's still no results back it's in progress still so am worried if it is cancer as it's taking so long . Would love to hear from anyone who's had something similar . Thanks in advance

• I had thyroid cancer two years ago. The good news is that thyroid cancer progresses slowly - I had it at least 5 years before I was diagnosed - so even if you DO have it, the delay is unlikely to cause a serious problem. When I was diagnosed, the doctor said it wouldn't do any harm in the immediate future.

• Thank you for reply ... such a worrying time . It's the not knowing nd waiting is the worst . Hopefully I'll have results soon nd can move forward whatever the outcome . 

• It's definitely scary, but you've already had half your thyroid out. If it does turn out to be cancerous (and it's quite likely it won't), then most likely, you just get the other half out. Another operation is definitely not the outcome you want but it probably won't be any worse than the first. If your entire thyroid is removed, you will have to take medication to replace it, but for me, that hasn't been a big deal. It can cause problems for some people, but there is no reason to believe you will be in that group.

• Hello Sonj, and thank you for contacting us.

I am so sorry that you are going through this, it must be a difficult time for you and your family.