Terminal Cancer

Hi All, I'm a bit new to this I never post on forums but if anyone has any past experience or advice it would be greatly appreciated. 

Long story short it's been a huge shock my grandad of 68 around 3 weeks ago was sadly diagnosed with pancreatic cancer which has spread to liver kidneys and colon/bowel. Scary as no symptoms at all but basically a death sentence. He cant eat and hasn't done for almost 20 days but is getting nutrients through a drip. Hes still in hospital but we are just hoping he can be at home or in a hospice to die. 

I'm 27 and fortunately never grieved so much or been so heartbroken losing someone so close to me.

Hes been given around 2 months but last night he had to have morphine for the pain...so what I wondered if anyone has been through similar, is morphine a sign of nearing death :( I'm just trying any which way I can to prepare myself so I can be as strong as I can but you just dont know do you :(

Honestly any advice would be so appreciated thank you.

• Hi Lily-r 

ive just joined here tonight, I’m so sorry to hear about your grandad,my dad has lung cancer it had spread to his lymph nodes and liver since last November, after chemo and radiotherapy we were told yesterday it’s spread and there’s nothing more we can do the hospital have been amazing and we’ve been very lucky to have such a great team, You say your grandad had morphine for the pain my dads been on morphine for over a year now for the pain he is in.I personally feel if it helps them to be comfortable then that’s what matters.I would speak to the nurses I hope you have good ones like us take care x

• Hi Linz27,

im so sorry to hear about your dad and thank you so much for your reply, its greatly apprecciated.

thats so reassuring that the nurses have been so good to your dad its lovely support.

thank you again and take care x

• Hi Lily,