Swollen Lymph Node

I am worried about my partner.  She has had a swollen node on the side of the neck for 5 weeks now. 

The doctor has said she needs B12 injections 3 times a week and Iron tablets on top of this as well as more blood tests. 

The swollen node is as big as ever. 

She has been red flagged and is due a scan and possible biopsy.  Can anyone advise around this.

• Hi Snowball13.

I am not a doctor and I have no medical qualifications, but questions around swollen lymph nodes crop up regularly here.

The vast majority of lymph nodes swell up because the body is fighting an infection - even though the person may have no awareness that they're infected. Most of the time the node shrinks back to normal, but this doesn't always happen and a node remains harmlessly swollen.  The general guidance is to see your GP if a node is still swollen after 4-6 weeks - but that doesn't mean that cancer is likely after that time. It's a simply a guideline that's set to make sure that if it really is cancer, it will be caught early while it's relatively easy to treat.

I note that you make no mention of the other symptoms which often (but not always) accompany lymphoma such as drenching night sweats, severe itching, and a few others.

Your partner's GP is doing the right thing by referring her for a scan etc, but the general statistic for all "urgent" cancer referrals is that 9 out of 10 patients turn out NOT to have cancer.  The referral guidelines are set very broadly to catch the 1 person in 10 who does have cancer. 

I know how difficult it is not to worry when a loved one is sick, but there doesn't seem any particular reason to think that this is cancer.  If it is bad news then it will have been caught nice and early with every reason to expect a good outcome after treatment.

• Hi there.

Thank you for your response.  It really does mean a lot.