Really Worried

Hello, 

Im new to this and wondered if there was anyone in there 70s worried about having bowel cancer. I've seen lots of posts from younger people but not many from the older generation.

Im in my 70s and my seemingly fit and healthy husband died suddenly in his sleep last year. I had health anxiety before but it has now gone completely through the roof! 
For the past month my bowels have changed. My BM are now nearly always loose especially in the mornings. I don't have pain as such and the colour is varying brown ( gross I know) 

I search my for blood and think I may have seen a streak but it may have been food. I am completely obsessed with my bowels!! I have mentioned it to the Dr and have done a poo test. I phoned forvresults today but they haven't come back yet. I am convinced I have cancer especially as I am older. 
Im not eating and have lost my appetite this is probably due to being frantic with worry! Can anyone young or old give me any reassurance. I would be most grateful. 

• Hello, Your post really hit me. I know you are worried and you've lost your appetite but I am glad you went to the doctor. You mentioned you are waiting on results, is there anything you can do to keep your mind occupied whilst you wait for your results? Maybe some walks or practice some meditation that you will find on YouTube. Listen to relaxation melody's & try to calm your nerves. I am really sorry to read you lost your husband also. I can't imagine how you are feeling. I am 29 so I am sorry if I'm not able to offer more advise. I just want you to know your not alone and I feel your emotion through your post.

• Thank you so much for your reply. It makes me feel less on my own! I know I always overthink but my husband was my world and he used to calmly talk me through my worries. I have been trying to keep busy and am ringing again on Monday to see if they have arrived. Thank you again