Parent with Cancer

Hello everyone 

I am very new to this and do not really know what I am supposed to write here or what to expect. My mum has rare cancer in the bladder, she was diagnosed in April 2018. I am 17 years old and have a dad and sister. When my mum got first diagnosed I was in total shock as I was the last to find out in my whole family due to me sitting my GCSE exams, which I completely understand why they held off telling me until I was finished. Since then my mum was doing really well until December 2018 she dipped and started becoming very sick and tired, she had a scan every month or so to see how she was doing and it wasn’t until recently things took a turn for the worst. She now has cancer in her lungs, kidneys, lymphodes and has gone into liver failure. 

March 14th 2019 my mum got admitted into hospital and was told she had 2 weeks to live, me and my family were completely heartbroken. There was a lot of tears and pain that day. 2 weeks later and she is still here, but has become very depressed. She now has jaundice, water retention in the lower half of her body and is breathless getting up and down. 

I would be grateful if anyone has any knowledge about how long they think my mum has left or if there are any other signs/ symptoms to watch out for. 

Thank you. 

•  

Hi Butterfly,

A very warm welcome to our community, although I'm sorry for the reason you're here.

It is tragic that you have had to go through all this with your mum. This is the sad thing about a cancer diagnosis. It is not just the patient who suffers, but the entire family.

Most of us on this site are not medically trained. We either have cancer or are caring for someone who has. It is impossible to say just how long your mum has left. Do you have a doctor or nurse popping in to see her from time to time? They are probably best placed to tell you when the end is near. They will usually leave an end of life pack with you to be used near the time.