Oesophagus

Hi, I am new to all this and not one to talk but if I don’t I’ll go mad. My mum was diagnosed on tuesday and told it has spread to her liver so whilst they are going to start chemotherapy it’s purely for comfort control. She is having a stent fitted Monday as she can barely take liquids now. She has lost 7st in a matter of months. We know this is terminal but I was wondering if anyone had any experiences of what we could expect. I don’t care how brutal it is but I am one to plan and prepare and my mum is the sort to want to know warts and all. The nurse says you can’t plan but the doctor told us basically to get your house in order so that tells me is more about weeks and months and not years. 

• Hi , sorry you are going through this and very sorry for your mum too . Basically no one can know exactly how much time is left but it’s always a good idea to have difficult conversations sooner rather than later . Take your mums lead on how much she wants to discuss . The best way is just to continue to be a good listener . As regards time frame , your own instincts will tell you a lot if you’re open to it . Generally if you see monthly changes it’s months ...weekly changes .. weeks left and daily ..maybe days to weeks . Every single person is different and the dying process is different for everyone . Not everyone has a very peaceful death so try to be prepared . By prepared I mean just to embrace and accept whatever happens and to be there for your mum . Literally , to be there and present ( holding her hand , if possible ) . My mum was in a lot of pain not everyone responds to pain medication in the same way .. there was a problem with absorption and toxicity in her case .. she was very distressed and upset and many people could not cope and left the scene . I stayed held and comforted her and didn’t leave her side as she was very clear when we spoke early on , that she did not want to die alone .