Mum

hi it's my first time ever doing something like this but I'm a 27 year old who has just found out that mum has lung cancer all they've told us upto now is that it's not cureable but treatable Her lung is covered  ( I don't know which one this last week is pretty much been a blur ) She has had 4 biopsies done and we find out more next week I don't know what this means if anyone has any idea or anything would be much appreciated my heart is breaking I'm at such a loss as to what to do 

thanks x 

• My mum has recently been diagnosed with lung cancer ...know how u feel :(

•  

Hi Kelly,

I am sorry that you find yourself in a position where you have to contact us, but I wish you a very warm welcome to Cancer Chat nonetheless.

My mum had breast cancer for 12 years before it metastasised to her lungs, liver, bones and brain, so I have a good idea of just how bereft you feel at the moment.  I presume that the tests that your mum has had will be to determine exactly what type and stage of lung cancer she has and what can be done to help her. Are you an only daughter or do you have other siblings?

Try not to go into a blind panic. The main thing that you need to do at present is to support your mum. She will probably be quite frightened at all that is going on. Fear of the unknown plays a big part in a cancer diagnosis. As she progresses further along her cancer journey, she will get to know more about it and it will become less daunting to manage. It is always helpful to have someone to accompany her to her hospital visits and it is useful to write down a list of questions for each visit. It can also be helpful if the person accompanying her writes down the consultant’s replies, we only retain a small amount of what is said at such times and have forgotten most of it before we leave the hospital grounds.