MRI scan

I was wondering does the length of time they take in an MRI mean they've found something and need to take more photos? So if the radiologist is checking the brain and they find something would the scan take longer? And would results take longer to be given? 

My friend is an in patient. 

• Hi Zig.

I'm not a doctor, nor a radiographer! 

To the best of my limited knowledge, each MRI "scan" takes about 4 minutes, and takes an image of one slice through the body. There are different scan types (with fancy names like "T1 weighted" and "T2 weighted") which show up different tissue types. So you might have a T1 scan (4 minutes) then a T2 scan of the same slice (4 minutes), then the operator will select a new slice and perform more scans, and so on until the whole volume of interest has been covered. 

I believe that the protocols (positions and types of scan) are decided in advance, and the operator is more concerned with getting the best image quality possible, rather than interpreting what the images might show. So, I think that you're in the machine for same amount of time, whether or not there's anything interesting to see. 

• Hello Zig, 

I don't think the time in scan indicates anything. I had a head MRI and was told it would be about 20 minutes. It ended up taking forty minutes as the first lot of scans weren't as precise as they wanted, so they did another round. Results were normal. 

regards, gamechanger

• Nope - having a scan is like having a photograph taken.

The radiographer concentrates on making sure the picture is as clear as possible. Someone else (often a consultant radiologist) examines the scans to look for abnormalities. Any faffing around (not a technical term) is usually down to producing a clear set of pictures, especially if the patient moves whilst being scanned.

Cheers

Dave