Liver cancer

Hello.  My name is Tracey and I’m 53. I’m a special needs teacher and mum to four children. I adore my husband and our pets and I have always thought we are blessed. (Despite my oldest son having severe Crohn’s disease).

i was diagnosed with liver cancer at the weekend. I’ve had a CT scan since then and I am waiting for a PeT scan - to check whether the cancer is primary or secondary and to see what stage it is. 

The pain is excruciating and we can’t seem to get it under control yet which is my main worry. I’m expecting the staging to be 3 or 4 because if the size of the tumour (8cm round and located in the centre of the liver) and the pain. Have been told it’s not curable but is treatable?? 

I guess I feel like everyone in this situation - devastated for my kids and friends and incredulous that this even happening. 

• Hi Tracey, so sorry to hear of your recent diagnosis. It must feel surreal. The uncertainty regarding staging/treatment/prognosis is excruciating to manage isn’t it. Especially as you have children & family to think about. On top of that, you are managing the physical pain. 

I can’t relate entirely (I’m carer for my mother, who has pancreatic cancer) - but I want you to know that you are not alone and that others are going through tough times also - and are sending you strength & support. Just think about getting through the days hour-by-hour, until you have enough diagnostics to properly forward-plan.

Hoping for the best possible outcome for you xxxx Jen 

• so so sorry for you , i am also being tested at the moment   i wish you all the luck in the world stay strong. 

ed

• hi Jen,

thank you for the reply. I think being the carer is actually more difficult (having cared for my son who has Crohns) and during this experience I seem able to keep calm while everyone around me is falling to pieces. 

How is your mum coping and is she receiving treatment and if she is is she tolerating it well?

tracey x

• Hi Ed