Diagnosed with breast cancer

Like most of the posts I was diagnosed with DCIS after a routine mammogram. Saw my consultant last October and had wide excision in November . Unfortunately for me there were no clear margins and I went on to have mastectomy with reconstruction in January. Nodes were clear. But what a roller coaster . Emotionally up and down,physically recovered well. The surgery was not too painful for either operations, so if anyone racing that now be reassured. I was out walking within 2 weeks and have continued ever since. I have been open with family and friends , although I don't go into great detail . I work as a practice nurse and never been ill before, worked for 30 years  without a day off so this has been a real shock .  But  everyone is supportive and I now feel I can be supportive to any patient that comes in with similar condition.  And to anyone on this forum if anyone needs support.

• I was diagnosed with DCIS in February.  I had a wide local excision 3 weeks ago.  There were unclear margins so had a second op a week ago and will get the results from that on 7th April.  If that is OK I should start Radiotherapy in 5 weeks.

I've found telling others the most stressful, and trying to keep it from my Mum as she has Alzheimer's and I am her main carer.  I don't want to upset her, she writes really important things in her diary and reads them over and over and wouldn't be able to fully understand but would be upset every day.

Most of the time I feel fine and positive but occasionally have a bit of a wobble but don't feel I can say anything to family and friends as I don't want to upset them.  I am having exemplary care, my surgeon is brilliant, I have my nurse who rings me to make sure I'm OK, but I don't want to say anything to them either as I feel a bit of a fraud (not sure that's the right term) as I know I am lucky that I only have DCIS and so many other are coping with so much more