confused

Hi everyone. I'm new to this  and I can do with any advice. .I've had cancer in 2010  got  all clear in 2011 after chemo and a radical  hysterectomy. .iI've can't  get what I've been though  out my head  I really thought  I was going to die even planed my funeral. But I just can't gety head around  it all and I'm always  worried  incase it comes back ..I'm up and down like a yo  yo   .help xx

• Hello Jules2K, I just wanted to respond and say I can empathise with you. I recovered from my brush with cancer nearly 6 years ago now. I feel so l lucky and grateful. In darker moments I do feel a wave of panic at the thought of it returning. There are no guarantees in anyone's life. I just try to push those unhelpful thoughts away and be thankful for another day. Now is what is important, be here now xx
  • Hi jules

I told went from I'm going to beat this to planning my funeral (only in my head though) during treatment.  Since I've been told I am in remission I take each day as it comes.  Yes every twinge I think is it coming back and at some point every day cancer is on my mind. 

I deal with it by accepting that thats how life is going to be from now on and once you accept it then it just becomes a part of your day.  This thing may come back or not but worrying wont make any difference so if I worry and nothing happens then I have wasted my life worrying if it comes back then worrying hasnt helped.

Live your life, take pleasure in the everyday, do the things you always did and find things to smile about thats my motto.

• Thankyou. I'm such a worrier  but your right I'm lucky to be here and should be thankful  for everyday.

Xx

• Thankyou  also.i just worry but your right it won't help me my keep worrying.

Xx

• There is always that nagging thought about cancer returning if you have alrady had it for the 1st time.

But I also had breast cancer 8 years ago and i have got 2 more years of being in remission.