Breast cancer

Hi, I am new to this, but have been reading your posts for a few days.   I am 62 and have recently found a lump in my left breast.  Been to my doctor and have an appointment at the hospital 8 May, which seems like a very long way away at the moment.  My inner voice of reason and sanity tells me that there is no point worrying about this before I have a diagnosis, but heck, that is virtually impossible isn't it?   My lump hurts a bit, like a painful ache and that makes it even harder to ignore.

The reason for me writing is that basically I am exhausted! I have had only 2 or 3 hours sleep a night for the last couple of weeks because I am being plagued by those little night demons that creep out in the night and fill your mind with terror that makes sleep impossible.  Last night I hit upon the idea of listening to the local radio station all night, and it helped to concentrate on something other than my own fear,  but it didn't bring the sleep and rest I feel so desperate for.

Although I have shared the problem with my husband, I do feel it is a bit OTT to tell him I think I am going out of my mind.  His way of dealing with things is not the same as mine, he goes quiet and keeps things to himself.   We are also limited a little with time as our 16 year old granddaughter lives with us and I would rather she didn't know anything about this at the moment as she starts her exams next week.

i am just so very very frightened, and tired, and my mind is working overtime.  I know everyone out there has felt/is feeling the same.  Has anyone found a way to cope?  

Sorry to be a bother, but if anyone could give me an idea of how to cope I would be so grateful. 

My very best wishes to you all.