3 year old son with Retinablastoma

My boy has just been diagnosed with cancer in his left eye. Apparently it's quite rare.  Has anyone had any experience with this.  And what to expect.

• Oh my ... my heart goes out to you ... I'm sorry I can't help with your question ... but just wanted to send a hug to you both ... I hope someone can help you... my thought are with you ... here's hoping your lil one comes through and just wish this cancer would leave our babies alone ... 

Sending you caring thoughts to you ... Chrissie

•  

Oh Reverand,

Life seems so unfair when an innocent three year old is struck by something like this. Sadly, I have no medical knowledge as I have breast cancer. I have searched this site for retinoblastoma and could not find any other cases. Have you tried talking to the nurses on this site? They might be able to help you more. You can phone them on 0808 800 4040. They are available Mon - Fri 9.00am - 5.00pm. This number is Freephone from any UK landline.

You can also post a question to them on this site, but it usually takes longer to get a reply doing this. What is the next stage for your son? 

I shall have another search on other reputable sites and see if I can find anything. If I do, I shall get back to you.

In the meanwhile, I hope that his treatment is not too traumatic for him and that it is effective.

A cancer diagnosis is hard enough to take as an adult, but it seems so cruel when the recipient is such a young child.

Please keep in touch and let us know how his cancer journey is going. We are always here for you whenever you want to talk.

Kind regards,

Jolamine