2 lumps in breast...

So for a few weeks now, maybe longer I had an ache occasionally to my breast, then the past few days it’s got worse and now the ache won’t go, and occasionally a small pain in my back behind my breast. I went the doctors and he found 2 lumps, even after I self examined n found nothing. 

I’m so upset, I’m scared, iv been referred to breast clinic with 2 week wait, what happens when I get there? What will they do? I’m 31. 

Thank you 

Emma x

• Hi Emma. Welcome to the forum.

Before I start, I should say that I'm a man so I don't have personal experience of this particular type of referral, and I'm also not a doctor. 

I think the first step will be to do an ultrasound of both breasts, so they can be compared with each other. Then you may have an MRI and/or biopsies of the lumps. I suggest that you take someone with you. 

I know it's difficult but try not to worry. Plenty of people are sent on two week referrals, but subsequently turn out not to have cancer at all and breast cancer would be unusual in someone of your age.

Please keep us posted on how things turn out. 

• Hi Emma You will have a mammogram, an ultrasound and if necessary either a fine needle or a core biopsy.
  •  

Hi Emma,

I have had 2 bouts of breast cancer. The first was 8 years ago and the second 7. I had a lumpectomy the first time and a double mastectomy the second. Neither procedure was nearly as bad as I'd expected and I'm still here.

When you go for your first appointment you will first of all be examined by your consultant and then sent for the tests mentioned by Telemando and Myob above. Your consultant may tell you whether or not s/he expects anything untoward or not, but they won't be able to say for certain until they see the results of these tests. This usually involves another wait of about 1 week before you get the results back.

I do hope that you are one of the lucky people that Telemando talked about and that all turns out to be fine.