Waiting for breast biopsy results

Hi

im new to this, but what I’ve read so far has helped me. I had a recall after my first mammogram, and went yesterday for the appointment. Everyone convinced me I would be fine, so after two further mammograms and two ultrasounds, I was terrified when I also had to have core biopsy on my right breast. The radiographer said I had a blob (I asked if it was a lump) which I didn’t have in my left breast. She said it could have been there ages, but as they didn’t have a previous X-rays to compare it to, she wanted to do the biopsy. She said I would hear a loud click, and she took 6, and then inserted a marker. I’m driving myself crazy now, thinking all sorts. 

Anyone else had a marker inserted? I’ve never heard of this, and it makes me worry they think it’s bad. 

I go 30 April for the results, but that seems so far away. Any advice would be helpful

thank you for listening to me 

xx

•  

Hi Sudi,

I am sorry to hear about your worries following your mammogram and subsequent tests at the breast clinic. First of all let me assure you that it is perfectly normal to have mammogram, ultrasound and biopsies at your first visit to the breast clinic. It is also commonplace to have a marker inserted.

Waiting for results is always a scary time. Try to keep yourself as busy as you can meanwhile, as this helps to distract from the wait. Are you taking anyone with you when you return for your results. It is always a good idea to take someone with you to all of your appointments if you can. It is also helpful to draw up a list of questions to take with you to your appointment.

Hope that it all goes well on 30th April.

Do please let us know how you get on. We are always here for you.

Kind regards,

Jolamine xx

• Hi Jolamine