Together we will beat cancer

Donate

Prostate

12 Jan 2018 19:29

Hi I'm a male 16 and I'm worried I have prostate cancer. I keep needing to urine a lot and I'm not sure wether it's caffeine ?

Re: Prostate

12 Jan 2018 22:28 in response to User2424243

Hi User2424253 and welcome to our forum.

You've posted in the Ask the Nurses section of the forum, but they work office hours so I don't think you'll get a reply from them until monday.

I'm not a doctor, but I had prostate cancer some 7 years ago.  The most important piece of information you gave was your age, which is 16.  I was 54 when I first had symptoms - and that is quite young for prostate cancer. It would be unprecedented for a boy of 16 to have it.  

So, I think you can stop worrying about prostate cancer.  There are, however, other reasons for increased urination.

Do you have any pain? If you have pain then you need to see your GP and you might have an infection that needs antibiotics.

Have you been drinking too much caffiene, such as tea, coffee, cola, or highly caffienated drinks such as Red Bull or Relentless recently?  If so, then cut down on them and see if the symptoms improve. 

If none of these apply, or your symptoms don't improve then you should discuss this with your GP. Don't be surprised if the GP asks you for a sample of urine. This can be tested by the doctor or nurse using dip-sticks, and the result may give a clue about what's causing this. 

But stop worrying about prostate cancer. You're too young. 

13 Jan 2018 08:20 in response to telemando
I'm concerned for my partner he has raised psa , abnormAlities found in prostate both left and right so biopyps have been taken just over two weeks ago his case is been discussed on Monday He is only 54 but he's had issues down there for a couple of years and seem a doctor ! First time anyone's mentioned this ?

13 Jan 2018 08:40 in response to hiace5

Hi hiace5. Welcome to the forum.