Lonely

My husband Rich has throat cancer. The tumour has grown so large he could neither eat nor breathe. He has had a Trachiotomy and is being fed intravenously as they were unable to get a feeding tube in his throat. We have been given the choice of taking him home , but then he won't get intravenous food or him going to hospice where he will.  I can't understand why we can't just be at home for remainder of his life and still get intravenous nutrition. We are both depressed and unhappy. We just want to be together with our dog in our home.

• Hi Gillyoso,

I notice that this is your first visit to Cancer Chat, so first and foremost, can I extend a very warm welcome?

I am so sorry to hear about your husband’s diagnosis and prognosis. I am afraid that I have no experience of being fed via a feeding tube. Have you asked his care team why this cannot be carried out at home? They should be able to explain this to you. Don’t hesitate to ask questions if you don’t understand why certain things are being done or why they cannot be done. Your care team have a duty of care to make sure that you fully understand what and why certain things are/are not done.

It might also be worth having a chat with the nurses on this site, who have the medical knowledge to explain to you why you cannot take him home. You can contact them on 0808 800 4040 Monday to Friday and the number is Freephone.  I can foresee one or two complications occurring myself, not so much with the food, but with complications arising from having the line, for instance, if the tube got blocked, he would need to have access to immediate medical care. It might not be possible to deal with this at home before he choked.