Together we will beat cancer

Donate

Hi

13 Apr 2019 16:49

hi all... I’m new to this but just needed to chat to someone that maybe has what I do? I found a lump in the rIght side of my neck like between my ear and collarbone? It’s moveable and about the size of a pea/baked bean... it doesn’t hurt and you can’t see it but if I push on it I can feel it... i noticed it about 4 months ago (could of been there forever who knows) it hasn’t grown but it’s worrying me and I’m thinking the worst.... i want to see the doctor but I’m frightened of what he might say... I suffer from anxiety also which is making it worse 

Hi

13 Apr 2019 18:01 in response to Kleef1986

Hi Kleef1986. Welcome to the forum. I am NOT a doctor.

You've posted in the Ask the Nurses section, but since it's the weekend, they won't be back before monday so I'm taking the liberty of answering you now, so you don't have to wait.

The first thing you need to know is that most lumps are harmless!  We all get a collection of lumps which come and then go, and they do no harm.  I must emphasise that I'm not a doctor, but given your description and the location of the lump, I think it's likely to be a swollen lymph node. Lymph nodes are part of the immune system, and they swell up when there's an infection in your body.  Inside the node, a massive battle is going on where the body's defenses try to stop the infection from spreading further.  There are many lymph nodes around the neck, throat, and armpits and they guard the body against infectious agents that have entered the nose and mouth.