Cancer Research UK on Google+ Cancer Research UK on Facebook Cancer Research UK on Twitter
Donate

Together we will beat cancer

head and neck cancer

11 Dec 2016 00:40

Good morning everyone. I have posted before and would like some comments please about the loose flabbiness of skin under my chin. Is this because of the radiotherapy or because of the weight loss. Just asking. Thanks everyone.

Re: head and neck cancer

11 Dec 2016 08:56 in response to ianwoody

Hello Ian, I can't answer your question but wanted to say hi. Hope another member will reply. 

Take care

11 Dec 2016 09:28 in response to Seabird

Hey Seabird how are you. I really appreciate this chat board and if anyone has information they are very forthcoming in giving the information. Trust everyone is good and lets chat soon.

11 Dec 2016 09:38 in response to ianwoody

Hi Ian,

I am no expert but would think it is more to do with weight loss than radiotherapy. I had 37 sessions for my prostate cancer and my weight was very stable. Hope you are well.

During my hormone therapy which ran alongside the radio/t I put on about 1 1/2 stones which I have not been able to lose since. Also I still occasionaly suffer from Hot Flushes even though I finnished all treatment well over four yuears ago

I wish you a very pleasant weekend, Brian.

11 Dec 2016 12:42 in response to ianwoody

Hi ian

from the Tomotherapy radiation treatment I essentially had a chemical peel once all the sores and redness had gone I ended up with perfect baby's bum skin around my neck

however the new skin came with its complications I had the opposite my neck skin was too tight and restricted my movement

i had a very good physio who painfully massage the stretch in me neck along with me doing lots of necks stretching too.

i do my neck stretches every day...in the car driving to work and whilst sitting at my desk and I moisturise my neck skin daily