Cancer Research UK on Google+ Cancer Research UK on Facebook Cancer Research UK on Twitter

Let's beat cancer sooner

CT Scan

8 Mar 2018 15:03

I am 21 years old and have had a lump on the right side of my neck for a few years now. I have started to find in the last few months I have lost weight and am exhausted constantly and have severe chest pains. I have family history of Lymphoma which I am concerned with. I have had my bloods checked and all they could find is my platelet count is low. I have been sent for CT scan which I had done yesterday I am due to go back for the results on the 20th March. I was just wondering if anyone had found that if its serious they found out sooner than two weeks or if its normal to wait this long?

Re: CT Scan

8 Mar 2018 15:57 in response to BeckyN

Hi BeckyN. Welcome to the forum.

I'm not a doctor.

In my experience, which I think is echoed by other members of the forum, you can't read anything into the timing of results. They come when they come. It's also common that you get to see a consultant, or one of the team, even when the results are clear. This is so that there is someone to answer any questions you might have, plus a clear result doesn't necessarily mean that they know what has caused the lump in the first place, so they may still want to schedule further tests.