New Investigator Committee

The New Investigator Committee has a broad remit spanning basic and translational cancer research, responsible for a number of funding schemes to support the cancer research leaders of tomorrow at all stages of their careers.

For each of the funding schemes supported by the Committee, projects are encouraged from any area of CRUK’s funding remit, with the exception of drug discovery and clinical trials.

Funding schemes

The Career Development Fellowship offers support to outstanding early-career scientists to set up their first independent cancer research group.

The Career Establishment Award offers support to new group leaders who have a fully-funded position to establish their cancer research career.

The Senior Cancer Research Fellowship offers support to outstanding mid-career scientists to establish or further develop an independent cancer research group.

The Research Travel Award provides support to postdoctoral researchers to visit a collaborating research group in the UK or overseas to learn new research skills. 

If you have more than 8 years of research experience post-PhD and a fully-funded position, you should consider the Programme Foundation Award.
Clinicians seeking to build their own research team should contact us before applying to discuss the best route for funding; the fellowships offered by the Clinical Careers Committee may be more appropriate. 

How proposals are judged

The New Investigator Committee meets twice a year to assess applications to the schemes within its remit. Applications are judged on the basis of scientific excellence, research environment, the candidate’s track record and future potential, and relevance of the research to the aims of Cancer Research UK.

Chair of the New Investigator Committee

Professor Clare Isacke - The Institute of Cancer Research, London


Dr Jason Carroll - CRUK Cambridge Institute

Members of the New Investigator Committee

Dr Alvis Brazma - European Molecular Biology Laboratory

Dr Patrick Derksen - UMC Utrecht

Dr Ferdia Gallagher - University of Cambridge

Professor Catrin Pritchard - University of Leicester

Professor Caetano Reis e Sousa - The Francis Crick Institute

Dr Katrin Rittinger - The Francis Crick Institute

Dr Tim Somervaille - CRUK Manchester Institute

Dr Christopher Lord - The Institute of Cancer Research, London (appointment commencing in 2018)

Professor Vincenzo Cerundolo - University of Oxford (appointment commencing in 2018)

Professor Robertus de Bruin - University College London (appointment commencing in 2018)

Ms Alison Howe (Patient Representative)

Chair of the Research Travel Awards Panel

Professor Jessica Downs - Institute of Cancer Research

Members of the Research Travel Awards Panel

Professor Sonia Rocha - University of Dundee

Dr Sara Zanivan - CRUK Beatson Institute

Dr Santiago Zelenay - University of Manchester

Dr Doryen Bubeck - Imperial College London

Professor Trevor Graham - Queen Mary, University of London

Professor Yoryos Lyratzopoulos - University College London

Contact this committee


Dr Marjolein Schaap

Research Funding Manager

Tel: +44 (0)20 3469 8097

More career development opportunities

Research Careers

We offer a range of fellowships, bursaries and other support to help outstanding scientists and clinicians develop their independent research careers.

Looking for a collaborator?

Share your research interests with potential collaborators, tell other early detection researchers what expertise you're looking to work with, and search for a potential partner using our collaboration matcher.

Share this page